What To Read After Your Breakup: Modern Romance

Aziz-big


By Laura Yates


Modern Romance is Aziz Ansari's very funny and enlightening exploration of dating in the modern world. It's the perfect read if you’re dating, thinking about starting dating or just want to know that you’re not alone if you’ve found dating and relationships difficult to navigate.

It’s fun, punchy, informative and gives a very honest perspective of what dating is like today. The book is also very interesting because it explores what makes people fall in love and break up all around the world, how we all seem to be on a quest (and almost an obsession) to find ‘the one’ and how the act of swiping to find love is becoming more and more the norm throughout different cultures.

Modern Romance

(source: www.instagram.com/inclemency)

What I loved about Modern Romance is that it breaks down many aspects of a relationship and the challenges that come with that - the search for a partner, the journey of dating and then the complications of being in a relationship and settling down. It has many layers and looks at these elements of a relationship in different cultures and generations. It gives context. 

As well as collecting his own data and examples from some of the most current popular dating sites like OKCupid and Match.com, the author has also pulled in the insights of Eric Klinenberg - the author of single-living book Going Solo and professor of sociology at NYU. So it’s backed up with evidence. 

This book reminds us that behind every profile picture on Tinder or text message, there’s a real person with feelings, emotions and a life. That can be so easy to forget, so Modern Romance is a lovely reminder.

writer photo

Laura Yates

Laura is a coach, writer and speaker specialising in helping people to bounce back, relieve stress in their lives, heal and transform their everyday. Laura has been featured in VICE, Glamour, Match.com, Eharmony and the Daily Mail plus others. You can find Laura, her blog and website at www.laurayates.org

Website Instagram

Wow, thanks!

We know your inbox is busy, so we feel honored that you'd like to include us in your email life. Here's what to expect: a weekly update from our founder Ellen, with the latest posts and sneak previews of upcoming launches. Oh, and don't forget to follow us on Instagram: @letsmend and Snapchat: lets.mend.

If you're a Gmail subscriber, sometimes our emails end up in the Promotions tab of your inbox. If you want our newsletters to show in your Primary tab, just drag and drop one of our newsletters in there.

See you soon!

×